Heirloom Flower Press

Oak heirloom flower press made from salvaged Oak wood that was reclaimed from the bottom of a bog. The wood is estimated to be at least 800 years old, possibly older.

BOG OAK FLOWER PRESS – Limited edition heirloom flower press created from salvaged Oak that was reclaimed from the bottom of a bog in New England. The wood is estimated to be at least 800 years old, possibly older; centuries before settlers came to America. Click on the photo to see this press and the history it holds.
Image used with permission. © 2013 Lynette Breton and Patty Olds of Holding Patterns

Today I stumbled upon the website of a woodworker (I’d really call her presses art) who makes the most enchantingly beautiful flower presses I’ve ever seen. This artist creates limited edition heirloom flower presses using historical, reclaimed, and salvaged hardwoods and even gives an interesting and well written history of the wood used for each press and where the wood came from. I spent too much time on her website reading, re-reading and studying the photos… I had other things I should have done, but I just couldn’t tear myself away.

We all have presses that we use and have to put away when visitors come because they are just not pretty. However this press is such a work of art in itself that I’d be proud to display it where all can see, even if I’m not pressing anything in it at the moment. Knowing the full history, I imagine this beautiful flower press would be a great conversation starter. Using this press, you would be using art to create art and what could be better! I encourage you to take a look.

Leave a Reply

